Weybridge has its very own monument!
This monument has a very interesting history. It was originally erected in Seven Dials in central London near Covent Garden. In the 18th Century, the Seven Dials Area became the haunt of cut-throats, thieves and prostitutes. In 1773, the city commissioners pulled the column down to get rid of these undesirables.
In 1820 the Duchess of York who had lived in Weybridge for 30 years died, and because she was a very popular local resident the local people wanted to erect a memorial to her.
The Monument which had been taken down from London was being stored in the gardens of a local architect, James Paine in Addlestone. A collection in memory of the Duchess was organised by a Mr Joseph Todd, landlord of the nearby Ship Inn and it raised sufficient funds for the monument. The base was inscribed to the duchess;
This column was erected by the inhabitants of Weybridge and its vicinity on the 6th day of August 1822 by voluntary contribution. In token of their sincere esteem and regard for her late Royal Highness the most excellent and illustrious Frederica Charlotte Ulrica Catherina, Duchess of York. Who resided for upwards of thirty years at Oatlands in this parish, exercising every Christian virtue and died, universally regretted, on the 6th day of August 1820
In 1984, the Seven Dials Monument Committee was set up and successfully raised money to erect a replica of the original monument at the Seven Dials between Shaftesbury Avenue and Convent Garden.
Thank you to the website ‘All About Weybridge‘ for this fascinating information 🙂